You are here: Home News Rob Holland Wins Again The US National Aerobatic Championship
Tuesday, 14 October 2014 16:08

Rob Holland Wins Again The US National Aerobatic Championship

Written by  Snap&Roll
Rate this item
(4 votes)

Rob Holland wins his fourth aerobatic championship in a row in the Unlimited category at the U.S Nationals Aerobatic Championship, held at North Texas Regional airport/Perrin. 

(Picture by Ryan Sundheimer AirshowStuff.com)

At the controls of his modified MXS, Rob carried the lead from the outset with an excellent Known flight (83,431%). Jeff Boerboon (Extra 330SC) finished second with a score of 82,171% and Nikolay Timofeev third (81,342%).

During the free flight there was a surprise:  Jeff Boerboon climbed to the top after being scored 83,398%. Followed very closely by Goody Thomas (Extra 300SC), who finished second with a Score of  83,388%. Nikolay Timofeev was third with a 82,176%. Therefore, Rob had to reluctantly accept the fourth position.

The Free Unknown was the last and conclusive flight, the one decidIng the winner of the Nationals. Rob performed an excellent flight with almost no mistakes and ranked first with a score of 81,043%. Jeff got the second place (79,128%) and Goody the third place (78,688%).

After computerizing the scores of all the flights, Rob Holland was proclaimed the best aerobatic pilot and Received the gold medal in US with an amazing average score of 81,926%. Jeff Boerboon obtained the silver medal with a precision of 81,496% and Goody Thomas got the bronze with an average of 80,914%.

In the smoke modality, the 4 minute freestyle, Rob had no opponent. He performed an amazing flight and some unbelievable figures rarely seen before. The judges Were forced to give him one of the highest scores ever ranked, 90,221%.  That is a clear sign of the innovation and flying skills of the best pilot in the world of this modality. Jeff Boerboon finished second (88,447%) and Goody Thomas third (81,475%).


 The 2015 US National Aerobatic Team

According to the US National Aerobatic regulations the top-placing men and women with an overall of 70% or higher will get in the US team. After computerizing the free unknown 2, the names of the US Unlimited Team in the WAC that will be held in August in Châteauroux-Déols (France) will be: Goody Thomas, Rob Holland, Jeff Boerboon, Nikolay Timofeev, Brett Hunter, Melissa Pemberton, Benjamin Freelove, Mark Nowosielski and Tim Just.

The event also included all powered categories as well as the advanced glider championship. In the advanced power category, Foster Bachschmidt got the first place, followed by Kelly Adams and Craig Gifford. The advanced glider championship was won by Henry Leeuwenburg. Mathithew Villanueva finished second and Dustin Rivich third.

The dates for the next year’s US National Aerobatic Chamiponships will begin in Sunday September 20th and will go through the following Friday, September 25th. The 2015 Championships will feature all categories of competition in power and glider aerobatics, from Primary through Unlimited categories. There will be the selection of the 2016 US Advanced Aerobatic Team.

*Pictures thanks to Ryan Sundheimer (AirshowStuff.com) and IAC.

For more information visit:


Read 8128 times
Login to post comments
"Aerobatics is the hidden rythm of our soul..."